Behind the Song – ACCEPTANCE

Indie/Folk/AltChristian music with a heart... ❤

Ahh, Acceptance. This song is my jam. The lyrics just came pouring out of me, because every single word was written from past personal experience: self-doubt, exhaustion, anxiety, depression, disorganization. More often than I care to admit, I feel like a big ole mess. I’m a very emotional person, and although I’m easily ecstatic and joyful, I’m also easily frazzled. I spent too many years as my own worst enemy, beating myself up over the smallest flaws. I have longed for the hyper-organized life: the home that smells like fresh-baked cookies, the neatly stacked storage bins, the color-coded spreadsheets. But those things aren’t my reality. My house smells like muddy dog and store-bought cookies, my closet looks like a tornado aftermath, and the sheer idea of Pinterest gives me heartburn.

I’ve struggled through a slew of disorders and obstacles, and although I’ve overcome SO much, I’ve recently learned to accept…

View original post 453 more words

Leave a Reply

